Magic Carpet… Cleaner?

On my day off today, while sitting around in my pajamas, I figured I should do something productive with my life. So, I opened a new tab and pulled up Pinterest. I know, kind of contradictory right? WRONG. I had a mission people and I stuck to it.

The apartment needed a cleaning- My roomie and I have been at our internships all week and by Friday, well,  it looks like it, so I started by sweeping/mopping the floors and wiping the counter tops etc. All I had to do now was vacuum. I love the using vacuum powder in the floors but there was none to be found, and, like I said, I was still in my pajamas so a trip to the store was OUT of the question. BLING (that’s the sound of my ideas) Pinterest to the rescue. A quick search for “Carpet powder” did the trick:

All it called for was baking soda, an essential oil, and a container (they used a parmesan cheese jar). Well I had baking soda…  But that’s it. Yep, not even parmesan cheese, so I almost just vacuum sans powder and called it a day but I decided to put some effort and brainpower into this. I looked everywhere for a scent I could use when it dawned on me that Bath and Body Works oils for oil warmers! Oil-check!, Now a container. I looked through my pantry until I found an unopened can of crystal light drink mix; I took the packets out and voila! A container. A few holes with a hole puncher in the lid did the trick.

The supplies

My supplies laid out and ready.

My makeshift lid/powder shaker.

Pouring the mixture into the container

It didn’t say an exact amount of oil so I added about 30 drops in all. Then I whisked it up, poured it in and got to sprinkling. It made about a full container of carpet powder (I had almost a full thing of baking soda), but we all know how much it takes- I had about an inch left after I was done. The apartment smelled AMAZING and I think it did the trick. I am very pleased with the final product and love that I can switch up the scent next time around!

Overall Rating: 8 (Not sure how much cheaper it is than just buying the bow of powder, but a nice cleaner)

XOXO

Lace

About llmel10

I'm a 23 year old speech pathology graduate student who loves to bake, craft, read, and pin.

Leave a comment